“Dress for Success”

So as some of you may know, I am in the process of looking for a career. Something that will set me up and continue me on the path down towards my calling as a Worship Influencer. This is a term I just came up with on the spot and it needs to be fleshed out a bit before I 100% claim it. But thats neither here nor there right now.

I was given a newspaper article from a family member a while back about how to approach job interviews and employers and essentially “put the best foot forward”. Now, normally I disregard these types of Joel Osteen’esk “Be the best you!” type of books and columns. But in desperate times come desperate measures. And one of the first rules was “Dress for Success”. Now, we can’t all look like Will Ferrell and walk into a office building demand a job and they give him the corner office, but I think I can try…

The article went on how you are always suppose to dress for the job you want and not the job you have. But then my logical and often sarcastic mind wanders and I start picturing guys cleaning out septic tanks in 3 piece suits. I guess there’s exceptions to every rule.

When I hear the phrase ‘dress for success’, it brings images of ‘power suits’ and pinstripes. (and when I hear the word power suit I somehow picture Hillary Clinton, weird.) We live in a culture where the pressure of “looking the part” has made many people a slave to the opinions of others. People will spend lots of money to assure that they appear ‘put together’ and to keep the appearance of success. I actually was told once that men should average spending $300 per month on clothing. WHAT!?! Who has that kind of money to spend on that? The truth is that, while appearance is of some importance, don’t get me wrong, it is the inner-life that really matters.

1 Samuel 16:7 (NIV)The LORD does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”

So, how to respond? How should we dress?

Colossians 3:12-14 (NIV)Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience. Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you. And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.

The pressure is off to perform for others. It is simply because of love that we respond by ‘putting on’ these virtues. And my favorite part of it is that “love binds them all together.” My prayer is that the life of Christ inside of us with be the thing that people see the most. Colossians 3:3-4 says that …your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory. I believe that we will shine with God’s glory when we are clothed with the love of Christ. I pray that when people see you they really see Him.

Amen.

M

2 thoughts on ““Dress for Success”

Leave a Reply

