From Acknowledgement comes Kingdom….

Matthew 6 :

Our father who art in heaven

HALLOWED BE THY NAME

Thy Kingdom Come

THY WILL BE DONE

On Earth as it is in Heaven.

From our praise and acknowledgement of who God is and how Great he is, comes His Kingdom and His will as an influence in our lives.

I’ve been thinking through the concept of prayer and worship and how they so beautifully compliment and enhance each other in our relationship with God. If worship is supposed to be a lifestyle to which we live from Romans 12, and if we are called in 1 Thessalonians 5:17 to “pray without ceasing”, I personally find it interesting how we are called to live out both at the same time.

You see, worship and prayer is not primarily saying words, thinking thoughts, singing songs or meeting in a church on a Sunday morning. It is rather a stance. It’s a way of living withing the Living and Active Presence of God, living in Awareness of the Presence and simply enjoying the Presence. But most importantly, our worship and prayer need to acknowledge and then agree with what God is doing with a “Yes and Amen.” It is within this awareness and stance where then we are allowed to see a even greater glance of the big picture which is the Kingdom.

I’ve always prayed “God work in us, through us, amongst us and even despite our best efforts.” It is my prayer of submission, sacrifice and humility. But moreover, it is my prayer of allowing God’s will to impact every facet of my life, my ministry and my atmosphere in which I live. That every breath I take would be in a constant acknowledgement of who God is, what He is doing and His authority in my life.

One of my all time favorite books speaks toward this calling to this radical shift to what we call prayer and worship. The book is called “Everything Belongs” by Richard Rohr. You should check it out.

Anyways, those are my thoughts today.

M

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

