“I’m not that guy”

Good times at the Revival Group BBQ. Love hearing the stories of great people.

Call me captain squints!

 

So as most of you who read this blog or know me somewhat know that I picked up and relocated my life for the next year down in Redding, California. I am currently hooked into a Bible School associated with Bethel Church. For those of you who didn’t know that… Now you are caught up.

The other week I was sitting with a group of friends chatting about life, worship, Jesus and all the good things in between and I got called out. Someone was more aware than I was and pointed out that I kept using the phrase “I’m not that guy”… I’ve since become aware that it is my go to phrase whenever I get a little uncomfortable, uneasy in a situation, talking about my life, telling a story or simply telling a joke. It’s a good phrase. However, my friend graciously pointed it out that “Just because I’m not THAT guy now, doesn’t mean that God won’t bring you through a journey to become THAT guy…”

For anyone who knows me, knows that I can be, well, for lack of a better word “bull headed” and stubborn at times. I grew up in a fairly conservative Mennonite, German rich heritage and so it comes with some of that. Not to mention that my main core strength is Belief. So often times I have to learn the hard way in many situations.

Since that day, a week or so ago, I’ve actually come to the realization that often times when I throw out that phrase “I’m not that guy”, even though occasionally it is a defense mechanism, in many situations, it is part of my journey with the Lord.

You see, when I came down to Bethel my prayer was “God if its You, let it be You. If its not You, I still want You.” Followed up by a “I’m open and willing…”

This was dangerous for this Conservative Mennonite kid to pray. I’ve noticed how when we give God an inch… He’ll often take a mile.

Because God speaks in my own language… (and I’m not meaning English) He knows that often times I challenge Him to prove me wrong. And so lately when I say “I’m not that guy” I usually look upward and give God the nod and a smile.

Now, I don’t know where you are with your relationship with Him is or if you think I’m a nut job. What I do know is that God loves the fact that I can play around with Him. I know that God loves it when I can experience such grace and mercy as I walk through what it means to live out in my Royal Identity as a Child of the Most High. I know God loves it when my mind gets so full of His thoughts but my heart gets fuller with His love. I know He loves the process.

And you know what… So do I.

But most importantly I know He likes me.

Yup.

Not only does He love me. (Because we all know He loves everyone) But God likes me.

He thinks I’m hilarious and I’m His favorite.

“No longer do I call you servants, for a servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all things that I heard from My Father I have made known to you.” John 15:15

John talks about the shift in Identity. So many of us, myself included, continue to claim this servant identity in regards to the Kingdom. But we need to begin to shift into Friendship. Are we still servants? Most definitely, but God wants us to be so much more.

Claim it. Or do what I do… Get open with God and challenge Him to prove it to you.

He will do that and more.

M

 

Leave a Reply

