To do what the Father’s doing.


So I love this video. I watched it and my jaw hit the floor.
Not only is it super impressive that this 5 year old kid was ripping down the mountain, but as I watched I saw so much symbolism of the relationship that God wants to have with His kids.

In John 5:19-20 Jesus said “I tell you the truth, the Son can do nothing by himself; he can do only what he sees his Father doing, because whatever the Father does the Son also does.” He knew His Father so intimately that God shared everything with His Son. Verse 20 says that “The Father loves His Son and shows Him all He does.”

This video was so neat to watch how the 5 year old, although nervous, watched his daddy go before him and took a step in faith and followed. And through the small victories of little jumps and turns you hear out of pure joy and excitement the son yell “I did it! Dad! I did it!”. Knowing full well that the dad was continually watching and looking back at his son in the purest joy and pride.

I loved how as the boy landed his bike off the jumps you hear him grunting “ooohh, ugghhhh” as the bumps in the path came. There was even a moment when the boy stops and falls over or a rock gets in his glove and the dad so patiently waits, reassures and asks “Are you ok?”.  As they continue, the boy sees a jump, stops and wants his dad to come back so they can take it, yet the Father knew best.

And mid way through the video the boy takes the lead. Over time I believe God has intrusted us with His authority and power to walk before and allow Him to follow and support as we step out into the unknown.

I don’t have to dig deep to see the analogies that can be brought out of this video.

Truth is, this is our relationship. It ebbs and flows. There’s bumps, bruises, pains. But more importantly and more abundantly there is joys, risks, excitements and victories. And at the end of the day the Father looks down at His son and with the biggest smile on His face tells him He loves him and is so proud of him. One of the most amazing things is that the Father heart is to instill the Fathers identity in His son. To love what He loves.

The other week I was talking with friends about our middle names. For myself my full name is Marshall Wayne Heppner. My Fathers name is Wayne Arthur Heppner. My grandfathers name is Arthur Heppner. What I’ve realized, and it’s never hit me so profoundly as it has recently is the fact that my name is set up full of my identity. I am my Father’s son. Not only have I taken on his DNA, but I have taken on his name. It floors me. Again, you don’t have to dig deep to find the spiritual symbolism on this. When I dedicated my life to the Lord, not only did I take on a new set of DNA where my every fiber of my life was forever rocked and changed. But I took on the family name. I am my Fathers son. 2 Corinthians 6:18, the Lord says “I will be your Father, and you will be my sons and daughters”

Boom. Let that one sink in. There is so much more to unpack regarding this stuff.

God, I so desperately long and yearn to know what You know and to do what You do. So often I fear the unknown and shy away. But not today. Your heart is for Your kids to know how deeply You love them and how proud You are. May I be a reflection of that to others.

M

Leave a Reply

